Tags

, , , ,

“You were taught to put off your former way of life, your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be renewed in the spirit of your minds.” Ephesians 4:22-23

staying stagnant
i’m wearing dirty clothes
i’m so confused
i don’t know where
You want me to go
to the ant
to the world
to the ends of the earth
can this be
if this is me
i exist as the worst
example
don’t make of me
something not to be
i want to see
a real change
taking over me

in the darkness i was already dead
out of love He took me up instead
in nail torn hands i was born again
once an enemy now i can call Him friend

but what a friend
i am i never talk to Him
content to be
in this state
of complaint i’m in
so caught up
with the next
i harbor sin
in my mind
unrenewed unpenitant
so dark
far apart
are my thoughts of late
around truth
i defuse
circumnavigate
i trade truth
for the comfort
of a thousand lies
multiples,
nullifies
Scripture defies

as i read
help me be
what You ask of me
as i flee
from the things
that this body diseased
would have me drink
a bitter cup of iniquity
clouding up
what Your Son
bought for His glory
for fruit
plant a tree
defiantly
in the middle
of a world
dark and dying

-m.p. 06/27/2016

