Tags

, , , , ,

if you can find fifty men,
fifty righteous in this town?
for the sake of fifty men,
God, please don’t burn it down.

for the sake of fifty men,
I would never touch this town.
I would never lift a finger,
but can fifty men be found?

for the sake of thirty men?
if thirty righteous could be found,
would the Judge of all condemn the good
with the evil in this town?

for the sake of thirty men,
thirty righteous on the ground,
I would spare the place, its dark disgrace,
My wrath I’d still keep bound.

if there were only twenty men
what would my God do then?
would this be too few to curb the ruin,
to abstain from wrath, their sins?

if there inside this city,
yes, twenty men be found
I would not touch a hair
no flame would be inbound

to dust and ash, i will return,
but for ten men would it still burn?
would ten righteous pay among
what wicked men have earned?

Abraham, Abraham,
for ten, I’d let it stand,
if I could find ten righteous men,
I wouldn’t touch the land.

but can they be found? can they be found?
for so long I’ve looked around.
fifty men, forty-five. I would leave them all alive.
forty, thirty, twenty, ten
righteous men.
righteous men.

if there was one righteous man,
I would never touch this town.
for one righteous man,
I would not burn it down.
but they can’t be found,
they won’t be found.

and I’ll burn it
to the ground.

-m.p. 03/13/2016

