Tags

,

always wondered
where this
was headed to
had a hunch or two
just where
i might
end up

failures i’ve
sure had
quite a few
a couple more
will do
the sequence
i’d rather
not interrupt

i never needed anyone
no one ever needed me
for i was made to be an enemy
forever your archenemy
always wondered what i was meant to be
cross paths and then you’ll see
i was created to be your enemy
forever your archenemy

i was meant to plot
and to devise
in plain sight
disguised
a mind of
ticking
gears

when it’s the thought
that counts
to what it
amounts
is arousing
the worst of
fears

never needed anyone
no one ever needed me
i was made to be an enemy
forever your archenemy
i wondered what the future held for me
i see now so crystally (my destiny)
i was created to be an enemy
forever your archenemy

i like the sound
of my own screams
pleading
for me
to turn
the lights
back on

but it’s time, goodnight
goodbye, sweet dreams
nightmares
to be
the mask
forever
donned

never needed anyone
no one ever needed me
i was made to be an enemy
forever your archenemy
always wondered what the future held for me
once blind but now i see
created to be an enemy
forever your archenemy

-m.p. 06/01/2017

